The Genius of James Joyce


Exploring the Labyrinth: Understanding the early to middle episodes (5-8) of Ulysses. Perhaps the greatest literary genius to emerge out of Ireland and arguably the greatest literary intelligence since Shakespeare, James Joyce (1882-1941) can be understood as creating an ever-widening labyrinth of innovation through his four masterpieces: Dubliners (1914), A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man (1916), Ulysses (1922), and Finnegans Wake (1939). This course will give a foundation to anybody wishing to understand the unfolding of Joyce’s genius by reading and discussing ONLY episodes five through eight in his modernist novel, Ulysses (1922). The episodes from this masterpiece are “The Lotus-Eaters,” “Hades,” “Aeolus,” and “The Lestrygonians”.

Any edition of Ulysses will work, but the instructor recommends the 1961 Random House edition. It is also recommended to acquire Stuart Gilbert’s Ulysses: A Guide. [Note: this is the second in a sequence of classes working through the 18 episodes constituting this comic and innovative masterpiece.]

6 sessions. Mondays. 6:30-8:00 p.m.  October 5-November 9.

Class fee: $120

  • Online payment is strongly preferred. It automatically notifies the instructor and the director of the Irish College of your registration.
  • By check, make it out to ‘Celtic Junction Arts Center’ and mail to Irish College, Celtic Junction Arts Center, 836 Prior Ave N, St. Paul, MN 55104.  If you pay by check, please send an email to the instructor, Dr. Patrick O’Donnell at education@celticjunction.orgWithout an email, we won’t know to expect you or how to communicate with you. 

Out of stock

SKU: CLS-ODONNELL-JJ3 Categories: , Tags: , ,


Love Joyce? See “The Dead” by James Joyce.